About Us

The Structure of the Network

The Structure of the Network

The Network includes 26 Members - 25 Catholic independent Sacred Heart schools and the United States-Canada Province of the Society of the Sacred Heart.
The Members are represented by leaders – the schools by the heads and chairs and the province by the provincial team. The Members elected an organizing committee known as the Network Board.
Network Board is accountable to the Members to whom the Board reports at the Spring meeting. The Board hires the Network Executive Director.  The Board ensures the mission focus of the programs within the Network by holding the Executive Director accountable for infusing all programs with the principles of the Goals and Criteria. The Board attends to the business of the Network, i.e., finances, legal matters, etc. Its composition - 4 current Heads; 2 current Trustees, and the Provincial. The Head of Conference is ex-officio.

2021-2022 Board Members
Elizabeth Hicks, Chair
Dr. Yvonne Adler
Meg Brudney
Rik Dugan
Sheila Haggas
Shawn O'Donnell
Anna Stuart
Nat Wilburn
Suzanne Cooke, RSCJ, Provincial 
Executive Director is responsible to provide inspiring leadership in meeting the needs of the member schools. The key function of the Executive Director is relational. The Director develops strong relationships to enable distributive leadership to work effectively in providing programs and services that deal with the issues that matter most to the schools. Working with Web Manager and Office Manager, the Executive Director works to ensure frequent and consistent communications with all constituent groups in the Network. The Director also develops the annual budget for approval by the Finance Committee and the Network Board. The Director is a member of the Education to Mission Committee of the Conference.
Program Design Committee
Given as gift, our mission is a sacred work fulfilled only through the enfolding of it by each generation. This work of mission is greater than this moment, any of us, and all our individual and collective efforts. The realization of this incontrovertible truth is grace. 

Goals and Criteria, 
Sacred Heart Schools United States and Canada, 2020 Introduction. 

The Program Design Committee of the Network is responsible for ideating, designing and planning educator and student programs informed by the Goals and Criteria. The committee is composed of Network Educators representing many roles and regions including Faculty, Deans, Middle Managers, and Heads of School. With the support of the Network Office, Program Design committee members engage with faculty and staff across the Network to develop ideas for programming that supports mission development and addresses the needs of member schools. 

2021-2022 Program Design Committee Members
Brian Cordeiro, Saint Philomena School of the Sacred Heart
Dan Gargano, Sacred Heart Schools, Sheridan Road
Mary Rose Guerin, Forest Ridge School of the Sacred Heart
Elizabeth Guillory, Convent of the Sacred Heart, 91st St
Christina Hiddleston, Duchesne Academy of the SH, Omaha
Kitty Mattesky, Academy of the Sacred Heart, The Rosary
Paul Pryor, Convent & Stuart Hall SHS, San Francisco
John Michael Reyes, Sacred Heart Heart Schools, Sheridan Road
Katherine Spelman, Newton Country Day School of the SH
Jane Steinfels, Sacred Heart Schools, Sheridan Road 
Program Planning Team
Once a program is designed a Program Planning Team will be formed. This group of detail and logistic planners, content advisors and facilitators will oversee all the details in planning a program through to actualization. 
Schools of the Sacred Heart share in the educational mission of the Society of the Sacred Heart as articulated in the Goals and Criteria. The structure supporting Sacred Heart education in Canada and the United States includes the Conference of Sacred Heart Education and the Network of Sacred Heart Schools.  Together they provide services and programs to ensure vitality of mission for the member schools sponsored by the Society of the Sacred Heart.